How to Stay Sane When You’re Sick

I am pretty fortunate. As an adult I rarely get sick.

But when I do get sick, it’s pretty bad.

At least, from my perspective it is.

So imagine my surprise when I woke up on Tuesday morning not feeling great. My stomach was achy and I had a slight headache. After seeing my husband off to work, I decided to lay down for a little bit, thinking that two to three more hours of sleep would improve my well-being.

It didn’t.

I woke up feeling worse and it was all downhill from there.

Not to mention the full pot of coffee that was abandoned because there was no way I was going to be able to have it. (You know I’m sick when I am unable to drink coffee. Side note: I haven’t had any coffee since.)

 

pug sick
Source

 

The first day is self explanatory. You lay on the couch or in your bed, miserable, in and out of consciousness, in close proximity to the bathroom. Sometimes unbearably hot, other times freezing.

Day two is either more of the same, or like me, you get the false aura of getting better. A little weak, a little achy, but more or less okay. The day is filled with resting and making sure you’re getting enough fluids. Maybe you head to the doctor, maybe you don’t.

By the third day, patience starts to wear thin.

Day 4: “Is this my life now?”

…… and here I am in day 5.

This morning I’m feeling pretty good. Not good enough for a cup of coffee… not yet. But nothing hurts and I don’t feel sloshy.

It’s been a rough week.

The first couple days of being sick are absolutely miserable. No question about it. But it’s the days following, where you are in this limbo of starting to feel better, but still dealing with nasty side effects that prevent you from getting back to normal life, that are sometimes worse.

It’s hard to keep a good mindset when you physically are not well. A lot of negativity creeps up and there are moments when you feel like you are going to have a breakdown – especially at 1:30 in the morning, when you have Nyquil running through your system and you just want to sleep.. but your body keeps making you get up every half hour.

Haha.

So how do you stay sane? These are some things that I did that seemed to help.

Sleep.

A lot. As much as you can. Your body needs to rest. And it gives your mind a rest, too.

Epsom Salt Soak.

Epsom salt is not for everyone. But if you are able, a hot bath with Epsom salt is pretty amazing. If you are feeling up to it, read a book or magazine while you soak. If not, just try to allow your body and mind to relax. Do the best you can.

 

Hot Tea.

I love Kava tea because it promotes relaxation and helps with stress. Plus it’s delicious. Chamomile or green tea would also be great to drink.

 

Catch Up on Your Favorite Shows.

Now is the time to take advantage of having to relax – watch your favorite shows. Catch up on your DVR list, binge a season or two on Netflix, maybe learn something new watching a documentary (My husband and I just watched Tales of Irish Castles on Netflix- it was interesting! I highly recommend it!)

Play a Game.

Maybe play a game or two on your phone or video games.

Social Media.

Now, for the first day and a half, I stayed away from social media. I honestly just didn’t have the energy or care to check it. I was too busy being sick. But once you start getting into the limbo stage, it’s nice to distract yourself from being miserable. I personally enjoy Pinterest for this one. Find things that make you laugh, inspire you for the upcoming summer, whatever will make you smile and a little happier for the moment.

 

Those are some of the activities that helped me. What do you do to stay sane when you are sick? Leave a comment and let me know. 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “How to Stay Sane When You’re Sick

Leave a Reply

