March Favorites

Hello friends!

Here we are at the end of March. It’s that time again ….

I have a few favorite products (and by ‘a few’ I mean a lot.) this month that I want to share with all of you… So let’s get into it.

 

 

Sheila G’s Brownie Brittle – Salted Caramel

 

IMG_20170312_105131318[1]

 

I had a coupon for this treat and decided to give it a try. Kroger had it on sale a few weeks ago, so I ended up paying about $2 total. I was going to save it for a snack while we were on vacation. Well, that lasted a whole three days. I ended up opening them. The first bite had me hooked. They are chocolatey and crunchy. Initially, they had a burnt taste to them. But as I kept eating them, the pieces started tasting like the edge of a pan of brownies. The salted caramel is delicious! But, be warned, they are salty. I loved them so much that I ended up getting a second package before we left for vacation.

 

Say What ?  Sweater

 

 

I saw this sweater at Meijer and fell in love with it. It has a Bohemian/gypsy vibe that I love, and it’s soft and comfortable. This is my new favorite sweater and I have worn it a lot, including while we were on vacation. It’s incredibly versatile – I can wear a variety of tank tops and little T-s under it. It’s perfect for Spring, and I will probably wear it a lot this summer, too.

 

Neutrogena Deep Clean Cream Cleanser

 

2017-03-31-08-45-56[1]

 

Let me preface this – for the past three years, I’ve been dealing with adult acne. I tried many products on my own for a year, and had some success, until the products stopped working. I ended up visiting a dermatologist and I now use prescription creams. As part of my treatment plan, my doctor told me to wash my face morning and night with a gentle cleanser.  After using up the cleanser I had on hand, but wasn’t super impressed with, I was on the hunt for something new. I asked some of my beauty blogger friends for recommendations, browsed reviews and posts, and found myself on the skin care aisle at Meijer.  After 15-20 minutes of comparing products on the shelf, I finally chose the Neutrogena Deep Clean Cream Cleanser.  The front of the bottle says it’s oil free and “a penetrating and refreshing cleanser that improves your complexion.” The back says that it’s dermatologist tested.

I’ve been using it for a month and a half. I love it. I use it each morning and every night before bed. It feels silky on your fingertips as you apply it, and leaves your skin feeling clean and refreshed. It is not harsh and it doesn’t dry out my face. I have seen a difference in my complexion since using it, compared to the cleansers I was using before. This stuff is great!

 

Neutrogena Oil-Free Moisture Sensitive Skin

 

20170331_084852[1].jpg

 

Since using the prescription creams, and in getting older, my skin has become more sensitive. I have combination skin, it gets pretty dry, but also tends to get oily throughout the day.  It is a pain at times, especially in the winter. In addition to a new cleanser, I was also on the hunt for a good moisturizer. Again, I asked some of my beauty blogger friends for suggestions, browsed through reviews and posts, and after choosing the cleanser, made my way down the aisle to shop for a moisturizer. It’s difficult to find a good face moisturizer that is inexpensive. Another 15-20 minutes later, I finally chose Neutrogena Oil-Free Moisture Sensitive Skin. I’ve been using it for a month and a half. It’s light, absorbs quickly, and leaves my face soft, not oily. I like this moisturizer a lot. It doesn’t burn when I apply it and keeps my skin hydrated.

 

 

Wet n Wild Megaslicks Lip Gloss – My Cherry Amour – 551D

 

 

2017-03-31-09-00-16[1]

 

I’m turning 30 in a few months, and I want to switch up my look. I’ve always loved a classic red lip, so for the past six months, I’ve been on the hunt for the perfect red shade. This is a feat. I have bright red hair. Bright. Red. And I have been a chapstick girl most of my life. Every now and then I get lip gloss, but mostly I have a Carmex tin that I carry around with me everywhere. So.. you get my dilemma. On the advice of a friend, I purchased a lip stain. It is a gorgeous shade of red, and the color looks great on me. However, the lip stain itself… sigh. Have you ever applied a lip stain? I watched many a tutorial on YouTube.. the lip stain does not work on my lips. It ends up looking dry and cracked, despite the fact that my lips are not dry, nor cracked.

Anyway, I was in the market for a red. While at Meijer, I browsed the make up aisle, just to see what I could find. I ended up purchasing the Wet n Wild megaslick lipgloss in My Cherry Amour. It was $2. You can’t go wrong for that price. I tried it out on top of the lip stain, and it looked pretty good, but I like it best on its own. It is a beautiful shade of red and compliments my hair and skin tone. Now, it is a lip gloss, so it does leave beautiful lip prints on cups and cheeks. It lasts for a few hours, and I like to reapply after meals or snacks. I wore the lip gloss almost everyday while we were on vacation. I was impressed with it.

 

Sinful Colors Professional – GoGo Girl – 852

 

 

As part of switching up my look, I wanted a red nail polish. I don’t normally paint my nails because they always end up chipping within a few days, and I don’t like chipped nail polish. To me, it looks sloppy and unprofessional.

After watching Kandee Johnson’s Sinful Colors announcement on YouTube, I wanted to rush out and buy all the colors. So, while I was at Meijer, I browsed through their colors. I really wanted red, but they didn’t have Kandee Johnson’s. I had to make a decision. The pink from her line or GoGo Girl … I really wanted red, so I went with this one.

The color is beautiful. With a top coat, it lasted three days for me. While on vacation, I had to redo my nails to make sure they looked pretty. I love this color!

 

Chocolate Covered Espresso Beans from Coblentz Chocolate Company

 

2017-03-30-14-11-43[1]

 

Two of my favorite things – Coffee and chocolate. I picked this bag of deliciousness while on vacation.

 

 

BareMinerals Prime Time Original Foundation Primer

 

2017-03-31-09-07-00[1]

 

This came as part of the BareMinerals Get Started kit. I’ve worn BareMinerals make-up for eight years. With few exceptions, it’s pretty much all I wear. I love it. This primer is amazing and has changed my make-up game. My skin tends to get a little shiny throughout the day – despite wearing the matte foundation and using the mineral veil. (I reapply mineral veil a few times throughout the day.) The primer feels like silk on the skin and helps keep my make-up in place. It also has reduced the amount of times I have to reapply my mineral veil. Love it! I also seem to use less foundation with the primer, which is pretty great!

 

 

Children’s Claritin Chewables – BubbleGum Flavored

 

20170331_082716[1].jpg

 

*Disclaimer: I received this product complimentary from BzzAgent and Claritin for testing purposes. All opinions are my own.*

This is the only product on my list that I didn’t purchase. My son and I both suffer with allergies. He gets itchy eyes from pollen, dust, pet dander, etc.. and will experience a runny, itchy, sometimes stuffy nose as well. My allergies are more with pet hair and pet dander. My husband’s grandpa has a cat, who we love and adore.. but my son and I suffer when we play with her, brush her fur, and take selfies with her. Claritin has always been our first choice when it comes to allergy medicine. Simply because it works. We always bought the liquid children’s Claritin for our son. He would take it, but he didn’t like it. It didn’t taste very good at all. Of course, we told him that “that’s how you know it’s gonna work.” haha!

So, I was pretty excited to have him test these chewable tablets and see if he liked them better. Well, we visited grandpa on vacation – both my son and I were starting to experience the itchy eyes and stuffy nose. I gave him two tablets, and I took two myself.

Wow!

First of all, the taste. Yum! They taste just like Bubble Tape. So good. Within 30 minutes, our allergy symptoms had subsided. That’s quick! We love this!!

My son has since needed a few more doses with the temperature change and the pollen levels. He doesn’t give any hassles, no dirty looks.. I will be buying the children’s chewable Claritin from now on. I highly recommend it!

 

Yoplait Greek 100 Whips! – Strawberry

 

IMG_20170323_190826535[1].jpg

 

These were on sale at Aldi last week – $.89. In the past, I have not been a fan of the whips yogurt. But, at that price, I’m willing to try it.. this is Greek yogurt, so I thought maybe it will be different, maybe I will like it. Sometimes you just have to try new things. I bought three. They were gone within two days. Very, very good! It’s a whipped yogurt, so it was more like mousse dessert, than yogurt. It was rich, and the strawberry flavor was delicious! I loved it! I hope Aldi has more today when I go grocery shopping.

 

Kroger Wheat Hot Dog Buns

 

2017-03-30-21-45-42[1]

 

We normally don’t use buns. Saves on carbs. 🙂 But these wheat buns were on sale at Kroger.. I think they were $.73, and I was planning on making Bratwurst later that week, so I figured why not. We eat wheat or multigrain bread, (no white bread. ever.) but I had never eaten wheat hot dog buns. I was in for a surprise. These looked delicious right out of the bag. I set them on the plate and instantly took a picture. They were tasty, complimenting the Bratwurst. Loved them!

 

 

Spring – Sunshine – Warm Weather

 

2017-03-25-17-58-12_1490479338331[1]

 

March has been up and down with temperature, getting super cold (like when we were on vacation) and then teasing us with summer-like conditions. Each time it has been warm, we try to get out and enjoy it. My son and I will take our workout outside. He’ll do sprints and run around the yard, while I do my strength training. We do cartwheels (at almost 30, I can still rock a cart-wheel) and play volleyball and catch. We just love being outside.

 

Lake Erie

 

2017-03-31-08-19-10[1]

 

I’m convinced that I had an occupation concerning the water in a past life. Or maybe I was a mermaid. I took one of those fun tests in high school and it said I was sailor. It makes sense. I love being near the water – on the beach, in the water – it’s my happy and my calm. I’ve always somehow managed to live near water, too. I have never seen the ocean (it’s on my bucket list.) so Lake Erie is my favorite. I’ve seen 4 of the 5 Great Lakes, but Lake Erie is my favorite. In my opinion, East Harbor is the best beach out of all the State Parks. It’s clean, the sand is soft, and the lake is beautiful. It’s one of Ohio’s hidden gems. If you are ever in Ohio, it’s worth visiting.

You can check out some of the articles I’ve written:

A Visitor’s Guide to East Harbor State Park in Northwest Ohio

5 Ohio State Parks You Need to Explore

While we do not live close, we try to visit as often as we can. In fact, we were just there this past week. Stay tuned for pictures, a post, and an article about our day trip. 🙂

*If you would like to see a video clip of Lake Erie from Maumee Bay, click here and scroll down to Lake Erie. 🙂 *

 

 

..And last, but not least…

 

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

 

2017-03-31-09-09-44[1]

 

I have been a Harry Potter fan for a long time. I own all of the books and I’ve read them all at least twice. I also love the movies. When this came out on Tuesday, I had to get it. We watched it and loved it! Definitely one of my favorite movies!

 

 

And that’s it! What are some things you have enjoyed this month? Leave a comment and let me know! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

